Joyful Journals

My latest crafting endeavor is making journals. Some of my favorite craft books to look at are filled with ideas on how to bind journals and decorate them with different artistic mediums. This first journal I’ve made is far from the ones made in books like these, I’m pleased with the way this one, that I made for my friend Leah, turned out…

I started by covering a spare composition notebook I had in brown packing paper (I got mine in the office supplies section at Target). If you’re unsure of how to cover a book, this WikiHow is where I learned to do it just a few months ago! Very helpful.

Once I had done that and secured it with tape, I took a rectangle of wrapping paper and stretched it over the center of the cover (making sure to tape it on to the inside of the cover!). I threaded the ribbon so it went under the cover on the back, and then was able to tie vertically in the front. Between the cover and the spine is where I secured the ribbon book mark. Then I decorated my cover. After all of this, I took strips of clear packing tape to give it a protected, laminated cover.

So there ya go, now you too can go journal-making crazy!

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8:38 & 39

Leave a comment

Filed under Chit Chat, How-To's, My Crafting

Leave a Reply

